lies

Carlos Ruiz Zafon has a new book!  I was just commenting on another blogger’s post regarding Zafon’s Shadow of the Wind when I came across an online ad featuring Zafon’s new book entitled The Angel’s Game. So I looked for and found the website! Here’s the link in case you are interested: Zafon’s The Angel’s Game.  The preview they gave is as follows:

In an abandoned mansion at the heart of Barcelona, a young man, David Martín, makes his living by writing sensationalist novels under a pseudonym. The survivor of a troubled childhood, he has taken refuge in the world of books and spends his nights spinning baroque tales about the city’s underworld. But perhaps his dark imaginings are not as strange as they seem, for in a locked room deep within the house lie photographs and letters hinting at the mysterious death of the previous owner.

Like a slow poison, the history of the place seeps into his bones as he struggles with an impossible love. Close to despair, David receives a letter from a reclusive French editor, Andreas Corelli, who makes him the offer of a lifetime. He is to write a book unlike anything that has ever existed—a book with the power to change hearts and minds. In return, he will receive a fortune, and perhaps more. But as David begins the work, he realizes that there is a connection between his haunting book and the shadows that surround his home.

Sounds quite the same as Shadow right? But I loved the first book, so I’m reserving judgment until after I read this.  🙂

—–

The average person tells three lies in ten minutes of conversation.

That’s the tag line from the show Lie to Me.  It’s a new tv series under Fox featuring Dr. Cal Lightman and his team who assist federal law enforcement, government agencies and local police solve cases by analyzing what they call micro-facial expressions and involuntary body language.

about

Honestly, I think it is a little unrealistic to say that cases are resolved just through this, so i don’t actually focus on the story that much.  What catches my attention are the behaviors that they discuss, the nuances of a person’s face, body, voice and speech that they say will reflect different emotions no matter how much we try to mask them.  Here are some of the cues they talk about.

– When people know the answer to the question they are asked, often the brows are raised; when they don’t know the answer, the brows may be lowered.

– The hands get cold during fear, because the blood flows away from the hands to the large muscles of the legs to prepare for flight. Just the reverse happens with anger, when blood flows to the hands and arms to prepare for fighting, raising the temperature of the hands.

– Liars prepare a frontwards story and have a much harder time telling the story backwards.

– Oblique eyebrows are a very reliable sign of sadness.  Very few people can make this movement voluntarily, so it is virtually never faked. And few people can prevent it if they feel sad.

– Touching your ear can occur for many reasons; while it is not a sign of lying it may be a sign of a nervousness

– Lip biting in response to critical questions suggests an increase in stress. It could be generated by the fear of being caught or the fear of being disbelieved.  

– Clenching teeth is a nervous habit in some people, but when it is not (which you would know if you had a baseline), teeth clenching suggests an attempt to tightly control what is said or shown.

All the above descriptions are taken from the tv show’s website. And these are backed up by scientific studies carried out primarily by Dr. Paul Ekman, a psychologist, who also shared these observations through his books like Telling Lies and Emotions Revealed. He is also one of the honorees for the 2009 Time 100.

Interesting isn’t it? 🙂

Hm, I wonder if Jenny Sanford, wife of South Carolina governor Mark Sanford, could have used these to catch her cheating spouse much earlier.

—–

Cheating is one of my non-negotiables.  As soon as I get a whiff of this, I’m out.  I may still be able to forgive the other person, but I don’t think I could bear to be with that person again.

Trust for me, can never be compromised.

One of my friends once asked me, what if I was already married and with children, what would I do in case I find my spouse playing around?  And honestly? I don’t think I could stay in that kind of marriage.

I’ve heard of other people say that monogamy is overrated.  But what can I say? I’m at the opposite end of the spectrum. Possessive ako e.  So, sue me. 🙂

~ by moonsparks on June 29, 2009.

2 Responses to “lies”

  1. i found a bookworm! yehey! i’m not familiar with zafon’s work until now. i liked the preview. this is already on my to-read list! 🙂 thanks.

    those are cool trivias! but unfortunately we don’t have fox channel. sad T_T

  2. hi ron! you should also read the shadow of the wind. that’s zafon’s claim to fame. at maganda talaga siya. i’m sure you’ll like it. 🙂

    salamat sa pagdaan!

Leave a Reply

 
