mush

Ugh! Hypocrites they all are.

There has been much talk about UP professor Randy David’s announcement that he would seriously consider running for Congress for the second district of Pampanga should GMA decide to do so herself.  With this came a barrage of opinions from various groups and individuals.  Some have expressed their support, some said that he doesn’t know what he’s doing while others say he’s going mad. BUT among all these, the ones that I absolutely cannot understand or accept are like the ones below:

“I respect Randy David’s decision to run for congressman in Pampanga. Except I got surprised that it’s only because he disliked PGMA [Arroyo] and not the usual reason for running, which is for public service.” – Speaker Prospero Nograles

“These electoral exercises could be a good gauge to show whether his grievances against the President are shared by his constituents.’’ Juan Miguel Arroyo

“It will be the people who will decide and put this `higher than mighty’ people in their place.’’ – Nueva Ecija Representative Rodolfo Antonino

Pure humbug! If they themselves believe in serving the people, they would step down from their positions or better yet, admit to their own rapaciousness and their violations of public trust.  How dare they talk about moral or ethical intentions when the very concept is completely alien to them?

And yes, if a person says that he or she will run against the incumbent president just so the latter will not be able to hold office, I will still vote for him or her.  Our “president” has a lot of things to answer for.  She’s not yet through milking this country dry and I would willingly participate in any plan that will thwart her.

Shucks. Sorry, that sounded a little too mush.

—–

I was just flipping through different channels when I came across a local network featuring popular PBA players.  And that instant, there came a rush of fun, giddy, happy memories of basketball-watching.  Oh yes, i was a fan.  I used to watch religiously and as a result, I memorized all the players’ names, the stats, the trivia, the strategies.

But it was only after watching Ginebra play that I really came to love the game.  They were gruff, coarse, jologs and at the risk of sounding too mushy, I’d say they really put their hearts into the game.  They were all-passion.  And because of these, each game was such a treat to watch.

Remember the 1997 season?  The Gordon’s Gin Boars, as they were known at that time, played the game with such gusto and drama.  There was Bal David’s half-court, final second shot which helped them win the game against San Miguel by a point, the last-second block by Vince Hizon of Dindo Pumaren’s lay-up which also helped Gordon’s win the game, and the various double-overtime games that really, literally, put you at edge of your seat.  When they finally won the title for the Commissioner’s Cup, that was one of the best, most amazing moments ever!

Yeah, yeah.  Unbelievers keep on mentioning the high turnover rates, the almost-pitiable free-throw shots and the nasty fouls.  But hey, you got to give it to these guys.  They would die for each game, for each free ball. Basta.  I love them.

—–

I miss the feeling. 😦

It’s been a while
But your smile always
Brightens up my day
I guess you know
Because it shows
You can see it
On my face
Feels like
You’ve put a spell on me
Feels like
You’ve captured me
And baby
This is how I feel

Don’t need the sun to shine
To make me smile
Don’t care if it’s dark outside
‘Cause I’ve got you
And though the rain may fall
No I won’t care at all
‘Cause baby
I know that I got you

Everyday there’s a change
You bring out the best in me
My inner soul is what you know
That is how you speak to me
You seem to understand
You know just who I am
And baby, this is how I feel

Don’t need the sun to shine
To make me smile
Don’t care if it’s dark outside
‘Cause I’ve got you
And though the rain may fall
No I won’t care at all
‘Cause baby
I know that I got you

Don’t need a rocket man
To help me touch the sky
I don’t need to fly a plane
To get this high
Don’t need to hitch a ride
When I could run a million miles
Yes I would, just to see you smile

Don’t need the sun to shine
To make me smile
Don’t care if it’s dark outside
‘Cause I’ve got you
And though the rain may fall
No I won’t care at all
‘Cause baby
I know that I got you

Don’t Need the Sun to Shine (To Make Me Smile) by Gabrielle

How about you?  What’s your song of the moment?

~ by moonsparks on June 27, 2009.

2 Responses to “mush”

  1. “I was just flipping through different channels when I came across a local network featuring popular PBA players.”

    Uhm, Wowowee? 😛

  2. i think so. haha 🙂 napanood mo? o di ba, part din ang basketball at ang mga players na yan ng childhood natin? na-miss ko lang bigla. hindi na kasi ako nakakapanood ngayon e.

Leave a Reply

 
