bits and pieces 06.24.09

The long, freakin’ wait is over! Finally!  Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen na bukas!  I can’t wait!  I’m so sorry if this post is peppered with too many exclamation points.  It’s just that this movie is my number one must-see this year.  And the fact that it took a long while before this sequel came out makes it all the more exciting.  Like a drop of rain finally kissing desert sand. Weee!!

How about you? Are you as excited as I am? Here’s the link to today’s CNN article about this: http://edition.cnn.com/2009/SHOWBIZ/Movies/06/23/ent.transformers.movie/. Some excerpts from the CNN interview which I loved:

Actor Ramon Rodriguez said he “popped a shoulder, which was a lot of fun,” filming a scene in which the Devastator is plowing through a desert, with fans blowing a 100 mph wind into his face.

“So, I had sand, soot, dirt blowing in my face and I had two guys behind me with wires attached to my ankles pulling me,” Rodriguez said. “Not enough yet. We need cars flipping over my head. So, he brought two cars and he literally had them attached to a hydraulic crane, flip inches above my head. So, the guys were yanking, you know, on the cables on my ankles and, yeah, on one of the takes my shoulder popped out and we continued rolling.”

“That was the shot we used,” Bay said.

“That was probably the shot you used and thank you, Mike, it was great,” Rodriguez said.

Will you watch it too?  Let’s talk about it after!

——

Good news are so far and so few in between.  Pero pag dumating naman, mapapanganga ka sa saya.  🙂

Two young Filipinos made the country proud by being winners in the recently concluded Democracy Video Challenge.  According to press releases, the Democracy Video Challenge launched online and at the United Nations on International Democracy Day (September 15, 2008). It invited citizens around the globe to engage in an online dialogue on the nature of democracy by submitting video shorts that completed the phrase “Democracy is….”

So congratulations to Aissa Peñafiel and Miguel Ocampo!  Here’s their video, Long Live the Fearless Man

It tackles the common definitions and perceptions of democracy, dissecting each one to show what’s real from what’s the ideal. And their questions are quite insightful too, leading you to ask yourself if what your believing all along is a lie.

Demokrasya.. Pinapatakbo ng boses ng tao.  Ang boses ng tao, ano ang nagpapatakbo? Gutom, pagod, hapdi, dalamhati, ambisyon, pera, takot.  Hindi mo ba iboboto ang mamamatay-tao na may hawak na baril na nakatutok sa iyong ulo?

True isn’t it?  A country steeped in poverty, ruled by trapos and oligarchs, riddled with stories of desaparecidos and all those nasty things, is it still a democracy?

But then again, how can you fault the man who becomes drawn to this lie?  When you are hard-pressed in all directions and you are forced to compromise, what else is there to do but make yourself believe that you still have what you have already given away?

It would be hypocritical of me to say that I would die first before thinking of compromising. I think I’m too malleable for that.  But a part of me longs to be that someone courageous enough to tell anyone to go to hell when asked to give in and compromise.

~ by moonsparks on June 24, 2009.

2 Responses to “bits and pieces 06.24.09”

  1. Wow I hope I could watched the premiere tom of transformers!!

    “Democracy is the form of government that gives every man the right to be his own oppressor.”

    But as I see it this country’s government particularly the current administration is the ultimate oppressor of the society we have right now..

    Thanks for dropping by my site..

    • kaya nga sana the elections will push through next year. 🙂

      Salamat din sa pagpunta dito!

Leave a Reply

 
